Pure Joy: Nightscape at Longwood Gardens

I went to see Nightscape on Saturday night and the entire spectacle was pure joy. I love outdoor art – I like to see the interplay between nature and the art imposed onto it. Nightscape is an entrancing combination of music and lights.

The absolute best part of the display was the Topiary Garden. It’s at the very end of the trailer below and the footage doesn’t do it justice. There are two sounds – the first is hypnotic with geometric shapes ‘moving’ the topiary and the second is a jubilant song with an oom-pah vibe played by instruments on the topiary.

I found myself watching the topiary show with a huge smile. I almost cried. I felt a child-like joy that was overwhelming. It was wonderful.

Nightscape goes through the rest of October. Go if you can.

Leave a Reply

