Writers wrap themselves in cloaks of loneliness

I came across this post on BarnesAndNobleReview.com about lonely female writers and characters. The author of the article is Jessa Crispin, founder of Bookslut.com. Without being a typical review of two newly released novels, Crispin piqued my interest and I have two more books on the ever-growing list: Wish Her Safe at Home by Stephen Benatar and Lucinella by Lore Segal.

But how else to function when you’re out there on your own? One rejections seems to be a total rejection. One error or setback is utter failure. The world folds in on itself, and the possibilities narrow to two. Either this works, and all will be well, or it fails and I might as well step in front of a train because that is it.

Read the full review here.
Bonus fun fact: I have Lore Segal’s most recent book sitting on my shelf as we speak (read, whatever – you know what I mean).
Leave a Reply

