A new writer crush! *sigh*

I officially adore Milan Kundera.

Plucked from my own shelves, I have started reading The Curtain: An Essay in Seven Parts and even though it is a slim volume, I am turning the pages slowly the better to savor his vignettes. So before I launch into the awesomeness of The Curtain and all the fun debates it raises, here’s an introduction to Milan Kundera.

He was born in Czechoslovakia but has lived in France since 1975. He insists on being considered a novelist instead of a political writer.
Kundera is most famous for his novel The Unbearable Lightness of Being which was also adapted into a film. Supposedly he didn’t like the film.
He talks circles around Philip Roth. (Go get ’em, Milan!)
He writes some damn good sentences. (Personal favorite: When the heart speaks, the mind finds it indecent to object.)
I have decided to write my own Thank You note, inspired by THXTHXTHX.
Leave a Reply

