May 24th is a good day.

Wanna know why? Because both Michael Chabon and I were born on May 24th. And I think Queen Victoria as well, so that’s saying something.

I loved, loved, loved The Yiddish Policeman’s Union and got excited a couple months back when I heard about his newest book – Manhood For Amateurs. Having also read The Yiddish Policeman’s Union and having listened to me extol on Chabon’s awesomeness, my brother got excited as well.
(We each bought the other a copy of the book for Christmas. Book club!)

So Michael Chabon’s wikipedia page is jam-packed, much more so than his website.

He is married to Ayelet Waldman who pissed off mothers everywhere with her infamous essay that I happen to agree with. (To be fair, read the article and not the wikipedia summation. Whoever wrote that did a terrible job explaining what she meant. Unless, of course, it was written by one of the pissed off mothers and then the wikipedia page would make perfect sense.)

I’ve always meant to read more of his work so this current book is a good start.

Leave a Reply

