Wouldn’t you want to know what was behind these covers?

I was mildly obsessed with the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series back in the fall. My inclination was to take to my bed but that just felt self-indulgent. But if I’m in bed with a book, I’m reading – not lying there depressed staring at my cat.

I had read the Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Mysteries series by Charlaine Harris in early 2009 – another bout of taking to my bed. I broke that up by watching the entire first season of True Blood for hours on end when I came home from work.

When I wanted another series to dive into, I found Laurell K. Hamilton’s series about a necromancer who raises zombies for a living and executes supernatural baddies on the side. Seventeen books later and I’m chomping at the bit for the next installment – Flirt. (See the previous post on how chomping at this bit made me break my own spending rule.)

Reading Hamilton’s books on my daily commute into Philly caused awkward second glances and some peering over my shoulder.

Yes, that is a semi-nude lady on the cover of my book.

Yes, that means there are sex scenes.


And they’re freaking awesome and explicit with orgies and shapeshifting – freaky, freaky stuff.

Leave a Reply

