The Deal

In lieu of the massive amount of money I spent on books last year and the fact that I have books on my shelves that I haven’t read yet, I have decided to set some limits. I will have an allowance in 2010.

Each paycheck I can spend $25 on books. No more, no less – well, maybe less. I will horde my change each week – if there is any – to put toward the next purchase.

I plan on mainly buying new fiction in fancy hardcover but I suppose I could be frugal at times and cash in on a 2 for 3 sale or prowl a used bookstore.
Not that this means I will only read one book every two weeks necessarily. If I finish a book before the next payday, I can browse my existing shelves for a book that will be new to me.
I technically get paid today but I got a gift card for Christmas (thanks, Maria!) so that will cover this final 2009 paycheck. Come January 13th, the games begin.
My first new purchase is Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, winner of the 2009 Man Booker Prize.

I’ll post all sorts of things I find about this novel to tide the blog over until I finish reading it.
Fingers crossed this plan works to keep me reading and keep me in the black.
Leave a Reply

